What greater privilege is there in sport than representing your country? Mountain biking continues to push far beyond just being a competitive sport, but there would be few kids ripping the trails who wouldn't be stoked to get the chance to represent Australia.

While the whole Junior Team was announced earlier this year, on Saturday Mountain Bike Australia (MTBA) announced the U23 and Senior riders who have been selected and who have opted to race at the World Championships in Lenzerheide.

While there is a lot of experience on the team there is also a lot of young talent, a sign that everything we saw during the National Series and Championships is pushing to a higher level. MTBA have reworked their Junior development programme and it's working.

Downhill (DHI)


Daniell Beecroft

Tracey Hannah

Tegan Molloy


Elllie Smith

Sally Potter


Troy Brosnan

Darcy Coutts

Connor Fearon

Jackson Frew

Michael Hannah

Dean Lucas

Jack Moir

Jake Newell (Reserve)

Joel Willis (Reserve)


Kye A’Hern

Aaron Gungl

Nik Barber

Cooper Downey

Jacob Frauenfelder

Matt Carter

Patrick Butler

Billy Cartwright (Reserve)

Cross-country Olympic (XCO)

Junior Men

Cameron Wright

Matt Dinham

Sam Walsh

Corey Smith

Sam Fox

U23 Men

Luke Brame

Callum Carson

Michael Harris

Alex Lack

Brent Rees

Reece Tucknott

Senior Men

Daniel McConnell

Sebastian Jayne


Junior Women

Teagan Atherstone

Zoe Cuthbert

U23 Women

Charlotte Culver

Sarah Tucknott

Megan Williams

Senior Women

Holly Harris

Imogen Smith

Sarah Riley

We will be onsite at Lenzerheide to cover the action, and hear from the Australian Team as their schedule allows. Make sure you follow along from 5th September, and we'll have a full wrap in our following issue. If you don't want to miss it - subscribe!